Monday, December 29, 2008

UFC® 92 The Ultimate 2008: Evans, Mir Ultimate Performance

Sugar Rashad Evans caught defending champ Forrest Griffin with a big punch while down on the octagon mat to emerge as the new UFC Light Heavyweight Champion in the main event of UFC 92 The Ultimate 2008.

After splitting the first two rounds, Evans was able to pin down Griffin after catching a leg kick attempt. Grappling in the mound ensued before Evans landed a vicious right that hurt and opened up Griffin. Evans then pummeled him with more rights and lefts that prompted Referee Steve Mazzagatti to stop the fight 2:26 of Round 3.

The match featured the first two winners of The Ultimate Fighter. Evans remained unbeaten in his MMA career.

In the co-main event of UFC 92, Frank Mir delivered a sublime performance to take the Interim Heavyweight belt away from Antonio "Minotauro" Nogueira.

Mir displayed an array of attacks - strikes, uppercut, leg kicks and head kicks. He knocked Nogueira twice in the first round. He was so confident that he even lay-off Nogueira in the mat. He knocked him down again in the second round that proved to be the end for the champ. In the process, Mir inflicted the first ever stoppage loss to Nogueira 1:54 of Round 2.

Mir, who looks up to Nogueira as one of his MMA heroes was emotional after being proclaimed the winner. The win arranged a showdown between Mir and Brock Lesnar next year to determine the undisputed UFC Heavyweight Champ.

Cheick Congo started things off with a vicious pounding of Mostapha Al Turk winning by TKO in 4:37 of the first round.

Next, Rampage Jackson avenged his two previous defeats against Wanderlei Silva by knocking his nemesis cold with a thundering left hook to the jaw 3:21 of Round 1.

CB Dolloway appeared hurt but battled back to repeat over Mike Massenzio whom he beat in Junior College Wrestling championship. He was able to get a full mound over Massenzio and Mike uncharacteristically gave away his back which Dolloway took advantage to pound him to win by TKO 3:04 secs of Round 1.

Other winners include Pat Barry over Dan Evenson by TKO 2:36 of Round 1(Heavyweight), Matt Hamill over Reese Andy by TKO 2:19 of Round 2(Light Heavyweight) and Antoni Hardonk over Matt Wessel 2:09 of Round 2 (Heavyweight).

The Ultimate 2008 was a great year-ending treat to mixed-martial art fans as the main events proved to be good as hyped and all fights never reaching decision.

No comments: